logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

d.sis
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 3, 2012 8:23:20 AM(UTC)
d.sis

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/26/2012(UTC)
Posts: 4
Italy

Hi!

I have a question: How to delete old backup before starting new backup?

I have to backup a directory (100 GB) in a RDX of 160 GB and maintain 1 copy.
The first backup goes well, it copies all 100 GB.
The second copies 60 GB with "There is not enough space on the disk".

At the end I have 1 copy of 60 GB.

I have notice that CB delete the old backup after the completion of the after backup.

Can I resolve this situation?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsor
Xavi
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 3, 2012 10:22:31 PM(UTC)
Xavi

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Moderators
Joined: 10/10/2011(UTC)
Posts: 263
Man
Spain
Location: Girona

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Don't use "create separated backup using timestamps" to override destination file by file.
d.sis
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 5, 2012 8:19:56 AM(UTC)
d.sis

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/26/2012(UTC)
Posts: 4
Italy

Hi! Thanks for the reply.

Your solution is good, but if I have to maintain more than one copy?

Thanks.
Xavi
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 5, 2012 2:08:02 PM(UTC)
Xavi

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Moderators
Joined: 10/10/2011(UTC)
Posts: 263
Man
Spain
Location: Girona

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Two options :
1) use two external disks to alternate days (for disk of similar capacity the current in use)
2) update external disk to allow 2 or more backups ( ~100Gb * Num.Copies)
If disk accept more than one backup then you can use "create separated backup using timestamps" and you should set keep full copies = (HD_Size / Backup_Size) - 1 because CB only delete old backuk when new is done succesfully.
kiralys
#5 Posted : Monday, August 6, 2012 1:10:13 PM(UTC)
kiralys

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/6/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2
Hungary
Location: Budapest

This question is also want to know.
Thanks


Originally Posted by: d.sis Go to Quoted Post
Hi!

I have a question: How to delete old backup before starting new backup?

I have to backup a directory (100 GB) in a RDX of 160 GB and maintain 1 copy.
The first backup goes well, it copies all 100 GB.
The second copies 60 GB with "There is not enough space on the disk".

At the end I have 1 copy of 60 GB.

I have notice that CB delete the old backup after the completion of the after backup.

Can I resolve this situation?

Thanks in advance!


kiralys
#6 Posted : Monday, August 6, 2012 1:12:03 PM(UTC)
kiralys

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/6/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2
Hungary
Location: Budapest

Turn off timestamp is resolve this easly?
ScottyBackup
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 6, 2012 4:40:15 PM(UTC)
ScottyBackup

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/6/2012(UTC)
Posts: 4
United States
Location: Nashville, TN

If we turn off the time stamp, it will continue to overwrite the existing backup. Correct?

What will happen to the files which have been deleted since the last backup? I assume they will still be there.

Is there a way to add a "pre-backup event" to delete this old backup? Otherwise I have to use "Tools > Deleter" manually before I start the backup.

Thanks!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.6.1 | YAF © 2003-2017, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.149 seconds.