Page 1 of 1

Full backup job not overwriting old backups

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 3:48 pm
by synthol
I am trying to perform a full backup each week, to a USB drive. The software is not deleting or overwriting the previous backup, so the job fails due to not enough space on the USB drive. How do I setup the backup job so that it wipes the drive clean before running?

I have a 256 GB external USB drive and 234 GB of data to backup weekly - so multiple weeks of backups will not fit. Currently I have been manually formatting the drive before each scheduled job, but I would like to have this done automatically.

Thank you.

Re: Full backup job not overwriting old backups

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 9:55 pm
by cobian
You don't need to wipe it. I would set up it this way:

1- Uncheck Create separated backups using timestamps
2- Check the incremental option (good for speed)
3- Eventually, check the mirror option

This will just write over the old files, but only those that have been changed.

Re: Full backup job not overwriting old backups

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 4:34 pm
by synthol
Hi Cobian,

I don't think incremental backups will work in our situation. I realize I did not mention this in my first post, but we have 2 USB drives on a rotation (week 1, week 2) and we want a full backup each week. The most current full backup goes to secure offsite storage and the previous backup is placed back in the server waiting to be overwritten.

Re: Full backup job not overwriting old backups

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:05 pm
by cobian
OK, the problem is then that when it's time to delete the previous backup, the operation will fail because the previous backup is not found (it is on the other drive that is offline).

I don't see any other option than probably executing a Pre-Backup event that wipes the destination before the copy begins...

Re: Full backup job not overwriting old backups

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:43 am
by Synapsis
I'm having th same problem, I have "Uncheck Create separated backups using timestamps" I do use during the week incremental option but I have
unchecked the mirror option because if I understood correctly that would delete the files if I by mistake deleted them on my PC. So what else do I need to check?
I have Windows 7 Pro.

Thanks

Re: Full backup job not overwriting old backups

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:30 pm
by cobian
If Create separated backups is unchecked, old backups will never get deleted (this option is only active when separated backups are used).