Page 1 of 1

How to obtain an incremental backup towards two different destinations?

Posted: Tue Jan 21, 2020 2:33 pm
by master
Iā€™m trying to do two identical incremental backups towards to different hard drives, but it does not fully work.


I created the first task, then I copied it and I modified the destination in the second. So tasks are identical, the only difference being the two different backup destinations (E: and F:).
I usually plugin the first hard drive and begin the first backup task. When it is completed, I plugin the second Hard drive and begin the second task.

Unfortunately the second backup is not the same, as the majority of files are not backed up (in fact the first backup takes more time than the second).
Can you help please ? How can I fix this ?

Re: How to obtain an incremental backup towards two different destinations?

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:08 pm
by Nemv9
Unless you plug in both at the same time (and put both as destinations), I think you just duplicate (clone) the task and make one for E: and the second for F:

If the backup is to a compressed file (zip for 7z), you can just copy that incremental file from E: to F:

Re: How to obtain an incremental backup towards two different destinations?

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:19 pm
by master
thank you for your answer
Nemv9 wrote: ā†‘
Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:08 pm
Unless you plug in both at the same time (and put both as destinations), I think you just duplicate (clone) the task and make one for E: and the second for F:
This is what I've done, I copied the first task and then I just modified the destination in the second one.
But the backups are different (as I wrote in the first post)
If the backup is to a compressed file (zip for 7z), you can just copy that incremental file from E: to F:
I thought about this solution, but is not possible because I prefer an automatic solution

Re: How to obtain an incremental backup towards two different destinations?

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:36 pm
by cobian
If you are after having two identical copies, why don't you add two destinations to your task?

Re: How to obtain an incremental backup towards two different destinations?

Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:36 pm
by master
cobian wrote: ā†‘
Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:36 pm
If you are after having two identical copies, why don't you add two destinations to your task?
I thought that using 2 different tasks could be the best choice if sometimes I don't make 2 backups contemporarly

but if it could fix my problem, I can modify settings.