Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Questions about Cobian Reflector
elmernet
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 01:16

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by elmernet »

I experience the same situation.

I didn't find the "time to run backup lost" setting that was in Cobian Backup 11 Gravity. Not planned to deploy?

Some solutions allow you to configure "wake up PC to run backup", in cases of hibernation and suspension. I think if this is implemented it would be great too.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1342
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 3450
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by cobian »

The setting is called Run missed backups and is located under Settings-Functionality.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
elmernet
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 01:16

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by elmernet »

Yes, I found this functionality, but it doesn't work, you have to restart the service for it to perform a backup after the pc comes out of sleep.
But what I missed is the "lost backup interval" setting (figure attached), and maybe the lack of this is that it's preventing Backup from starting automatically (and therefore needing to restart the service).
Attachments
Gravity.JPG
Gravity.JPG (71.77 KiB) Viewed 1780 times
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 3450
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by cobian »

You don't need to restart. Just wait. It can take up to 2 hours to trigger.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
elmernet
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 01:16

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by elmernet »

Maybe it actually works by waiting 2 hours, I haven't tested it. But, at least for me, and I know that this is a particular condition, I hardly have the PC turned on for 2 hours... that is, if this is the only possible condition, if it is not possible to adjust this time (less than 2 hours), so I'll have to backup manula every time.
I think it would be better to adjust the time - as was possible in previous versions, or, option to wake the PC from sleep and from Hibernation (Acronis does that). I think the beloved project of the
Cobian would be more complete, if that is possible and feasible.
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 3450
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by cobian »

This feature is used for automatic backups. If you want to run missed backups exactly when you wake up the computer, just run the backups manually.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
elmernet
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 01:16

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by elmernet »

cobian wrote: 29 Aug 2022, 23:49 This feature is used for automatic backups. If you want to run missed backups exactly when you wake up the computer, just run the backups manually.
I understand, but that's not the point. Of course I can do it manually whenever I want. The thing is that in the previous version - Gravity - there was an option to adjust this time (and not two fixed hours), which was very convenient for me within my PC usage profile.
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 3450
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by cobian »

I will try to change this for the next version 2.0
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
elmernet
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 01:16

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by elmernet »

Thanks!!
otrag
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Nov 2022, 12:23

Re: Settings>Functionality>Run Missed Backups

Post by otrag »

Hello,
I am using Cobian Reflector version 1.5.1 on my Windows 11 PC.
Unfortunately I also have the problem described by elmernet.
And it's really very obstructive.

In early September 2022 you announced a fix in version 2.0. When will this be released?

Thanks in advance for the answer
Post Reply