Backup runs fine but backup empty

Questions about Cobian Reflector
Post Reply
Jarkor
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Oct 2021, 20:20

Backup runs fine but backup empty

Post by Jarkor »

Hi!
First of all, thanks for the new version development. Great work under the scenes.

I've installed the latest beta today, created a new task, and it runs ok but nothing is being backed up as a result:

Code: Select all

    2021-10-05 15:00:31 Backing up some selected tasks.
    2021-10-05 15:00:31 The task Backup Full Diario - Carpetas en \\SERVIDOR2\Backup_Cobian\SERVIDOR\ (7ad8a213-c579-408e-a258-cae4003abf5e) was added to the queue.
    2021-10-05 15:00:33 A backup has started...
    2021-10-05 15:00:33 Calculating the number of files. This could take a while...
    2021-10-05 15:00:33 Preventing the computer to enter sleep mode...
    2021-10-05 15:00:33 Backing up the task "Backup Full Diario - Carpetas en \\SERVIDOR2\Backup_Cobian\SERVIDOR\"
    2021-10-05 15:00:33 Applying the parameters to the task "Backup Full Diario - Carpetas en \\SERVIDOR2\Backup_Cobian\SERVIDOR\" (if any).
    2021-10-05 15:00:34 Impersonating the user ".\backups"...
    2021-10-05 15:00:34 The user .\backups is now logged in.
    2021-10-05 15:00:34 The user .\backups has successfully been impersonated.
    2021-10-05 15:00:34 Requesting the creation of a Volume Shadow Copy image for the source...
    2021-10-05 15:00:47 The Volume Shadow Copy image has been successfully created.
    2021-10-05 15:00:47 Starting the copy. The user running the task is: backups
    2021-10-05 15:00:47  ** Backup for task "Backup Full Diario - Carpetas en \\SERVIDOR2\Backup_Cobian\SERVIDOR\" ended. Number of backed up files: 0. Created folders: 0. Backup size: 0 bytes. **
    2021-10-05 15:00:47 Deleting the Volume Shadow Copy image...
    2021-10-05 15:00:55 The Volume Shadow Copy image has been successfully deleted.
    2021-10-05 15:00:55 The impersonation of .\backups has been reverted.
    2021-10-05 15:00:55 The user .\backups has been logged off.
    2021-10-05 15:00:55 The computer can now enter sleep mode.
    2021-10-05 15:00:55 The backup has ended without errors.
The task has 2 folders as source, and a network share as a destination, with impersonation with the user "backups" as you can see.
There are no permissions issue, we'be double checked.
Task size is being shown as 105Gb or so.
No errors but nothing in the backup result.
OS: Server 2008 R2 Standard SP1 (Spanish)
Both services are installed and running as local system. I will test now with the user we're impersonating.

Thanks a lot :-)

PS: As minor things I've found, compared to the last version (11), the option "confirm manual backups" is missing, it would be great to have it, and what it's difficult for me in the configuration and tasks creation/edit dialog, is to know where we are, in which tab, etc. There are no way to know in which tab of the menu we are, but it's just a cosmetic change.
Jarkor
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Oct 2021, 20:20

Re: Backup runs fine but backup empty

Post by Jarkor »

Hi again,

I can confirm that after changing the user under the service settings, to the user I'm using to impersonate, and restarting the service, now the backups are running fine. Looks like some issue with the impersonation...

Now I've changed the backup type from Full to Incremental, and we're getting a warning, not an error, but just FYI:
Could not copy some file system property from the source "D:\Datos" to "\\servidor2\Backup_Cobian\SERVIDOR\Datos": El proceso no tiene el privilegio 'SeSecurityPrivilege' que se necesita para esta operación.


Best regards,
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Backup runs fine but backup empty

Post by cobian »

Thank you for your report. I will check that.

If you assign the SeSecurityPrivilege to the selected user (ON THE DESTINATION MACHINE), does it work as expected with impersonation?
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
Jarkor
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Oct 2021, 20:20

Re: Backup runs fine but backup empty

Post by Jarkor »

cobian wrote: 05 Oct 2021, 23:11 If you assign the SeSecurityPrivilege to the selected user (ON THE DESTINATION MACHINE), does it work as expected with impersonation?
No, still throwing the same warning. I've set the privilege with ntrights to the users on the destination machine.

Anyway, I don't know what file system properties were not copied to the files when backed up...because the previoud messages says that file attributes and timestamps have been copied.

Best regards,
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Backup runs fine but backup empty

Post by cobian »

The properties that are copied are: File attributes, timestamps and (if checked on the options) NTFS permissions.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
Post Reply