Backup Size

Questions about Cobian Reflector
alexdom
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Oct 2021, 15:43

Backup Size

Post by alexdom »

Because of the TLS 1.2 Support we decided to change from CobianBackup to CobianReflector. The change was very easy (after understanding the port-bug in the ftp-settings after the import (now fixed)).

But now I have 2 problems:
1. The size of the Backup-Files (ZIP+Encryption) on the FTP-Destination is up to factor 2 bigger than the original ZIP in the cobian-temp-folder (the screenshot shows the difference after 90% upload)
2. the speed oft he backup process is much lower than in cobian backup – at the moment I can handle with this
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-10-14 154430.png
Screenshot 2021-10-14 154430.png (102.08 KiB) Viewed 279 times
alexdom
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Oct 2021, 15:43

Re: Backup Size

Post by alexdom »

The final size at the ftp-Backup is about 45GB. The log is attached.
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-10-14 160049.png
Screenshot 2021-10-14 160049.png (104.53 KiB) Viewed 278 times
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Backup Size

Post by cobian »

Thanks!

I will take a look at that.

About the speed: is the compression part that is slower?
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
alexdom
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Oct 2021, 15:43

Re: Backup Size

Post by alexdom »

I don't know exactly what the speed problem is. But I wonder that the "Checking the archive" part took longer than the "Adding" part.
Because of the bigger size of the zip file the upload took also longer.
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Backup Size

Post by cobian »

The size problem has been fixed for the next version. The program was sometimes wrongly using ASCII transfersn instead for binaries.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
alexdom
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Oct 2021, 15:43

Re: Backup Size

Post by alexdom »

Thank you for the fast fix!!!

After the installation of the new version (0.9.20), I cannot start the userinterface on 1 of 2 servers I installed the update.

Errormessage:
Problemsignatur:
Problemereignisname: APPCRASH
Anwendungsname: Cobian.Reflector.UserInterface.exe
Anwendungsversion: 0.9.2.0
Anwendungszeitstempel: b946cb83
Fehlermodulname: KERNELBASE.dll
Fehlermodulversion: 6.3.9600.20040
Fehlermodulzeitstempel: 60adc0a6
Ausnahmecode: e0434352
Ausnahmeoffset: 0000000000007afc
Betriebsystemversion: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.400.8
Gebietsschema-ID: 1031
Zusatzinformation 1: 8999
Zusatzinformation 2: 89994e1494864efa4749d7ebfe5f943c
Zusatzinformation 3: 1775
Zusatzinformation 4: 1775359d1577dbe1999a645beca47f3a

Lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=280262


I reinstalled the update - same problem. After some tries I reinstalled the version 0.9.18 - there is the user interface still working.

At the other server the 0.9.20 user interface works.
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Backup Size

Post by cobian »

Do you have different inclusion/exclusion filters on those servers?
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
gvd
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Oct 2021, 16:05
Location: Belgium

Re: Backup Size

Post by gvd »

I don't feel alone anymore (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=514) :-).
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Backup Size

Post by cobian »

Have some exclusion filters? If so, are those of Folder type?
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Joined: 31 Oct 2020, 01:25
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Backup Size

Post by cobian »

0.9.21 is out which should fix this issue. Sorry.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator
Post Reply