RFE: Wrapper issues requests for Cobian Reflector

Questions about Cobian Reflector
Todd

RFE: Wrapper issues requests for Cobian Reflector

Post by Todd »

Dear Cobian,

This one you may wish to keep as a private dialogue between the two of us.

First, who/what am I: I am a computer consultant (BSEE Electronics and computer engineering). I have Cobian Backup spread across two Counties here in Nevada USA. The reason why I use Cobian is the ease in recovering after a disaster hits. Other backup softwares, with their proprietary archives, are always out of date (if the even exist -- customer DO NOT check, which is why I love your log reports ) and are no longer supported by the vendor and require you send the archive to them to crack. It makes for tons of lost hours, expense, and down time. And Cobian has everything I need in it and it works very nicely (well, except the database). And I adore your work.

All of the code I have written and discussed here will be made available to you if you would like it.

The main issues I have with Backup is that it the database does not like multiple revolving media. I have my customer rotate (usually flash) drives to work around ransomware encrypting backup drives. And in Backup post events I eject the drive to make it even harder on the criminals. (Sometimes the user failed to rotate the drive and the drive won't work a second time with it being physically removed and reinserted.) And when backing up to fixed drive the database fails after a month or two as well.