How to Change Backup Folder Names

Questions about Cobian Backup
Post Reply
vikingprofessor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 11:54 pm

How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by vikingprofessor » Wed May 01, 2019 4:12 pm

Hello Everyone! New user here so thank you for your time.

I am wishing to create an incremental backup task to my NAS. One of my issues is that I can't seem to find the area where I change the folder name that is created with a backup. Right now I am getting:

HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy# Date (type)

With the number being iterative and type being whether full or incremental. I'd really just prefer my file structures to just be put into this directory rather than a new folder being created where I cannot tell what the backup is. For instance, this is a backup of my E Drive but I can't identify that with the folder name Cobian creates above.

How can I change this? Thank you very much!

User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:57 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by cobian » Wed May 01, 2019 5:17 pm

1) Do you have "Always create top parent directory" checked on Task properties/Advanced?
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator and Developer
https://www.cobiansoft.com

vikingprofessor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 11:54 pm

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by vikingprofessor » Thu May 02, 2019 4:20 am

I do and I'm assuming that's what's doing it. I apologize for missing that option when I was looking through my settings and I thank you very much for your timely response and support!

User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:57 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by cobian » Thu May 02, 2019 7:58 pm

No problems. Hope it works as you wish now.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator and Developer
https://www.cobiansoft.com

vikingprofessor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 11:54 pm

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by vikingprofessor » Fri May 03, 2019 4:32 pm

I unchecked the box recommended and unfortunately the next backup created it in the folder called: HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy15. Any other ideas?

Attaching a screenshot of the task properties.

Log:

2019-05-03 02:00 The log tab has been cleared. The log file with its full content is still available from the Log menu
2019-05-03 02:00 Preventing the system from entering sleep mode...
2019-05-03 02:00 ** Backing up the task "E Drive" **
2019-05-03 02:00 Counting the files for the task "E Drive"...
2019-05-03 02:00 Starting the Volume Shadow Copy snapshot for the drives: E:\
2019-05-03 02:00 The Volume Shadow Copy snapshot set has been created successfully
2019-05-03 02:00 Connecting to "XXX"
2019-05-03 02:00 TLS is not available on this server. Trying a plain connection...
2019-05-03 02:00 The user "admin" has initiated a session on "XXX"
2019-05-03 02:00 The remote directory "HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy15" was successfully created
2019-05-03 02:00 The remote directory has been changed to "HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy15"
2019-05-03 02:00 Uploading the directory "GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy15\"
2019-05-03 06:19 Changing the history item to Parked. Reason: not creating separated backups
2019-05-03 06:19 Deleting the Volume Shadow Copy snapshot "2fb4d1c3-9552-4d2f-a621-3fe671d3e3c3"
2019-05-03 06:19 The Volume Shadow Copy snapshot set has been successfully deleted
2019-05-03 06:19 Total backup time for "E Drive": 4 hours, 19 minutes, 39 seconds
2019-05-03 06:19 ** Backup done for the task "E Drive". Errors: 0. Processed files: 103195. Backed up files: 103195. Total size: 829.56 GB **
2019-05-03 06:19 --
2019-05-03 06:19 The system can now enter sleep mode
2019-05-03 06:19 Total backup time: 4 hours, 19 minutes, 43 seconds
2019-05-03 06:19 *** Backup done. Errors: 0. Processed files: 103195. Backed up files: 103195. Total size: 829.56 GB ***
2019-05-03 06:19 --
Attachments
cobian properties.PNG
Task Properties
cobian properties.PNG (18.16 KiB) Viewed 1317 times

User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:57 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by cobian » Sat May 04, 2019 4:11 pm

Ahh, now I understand. This is an FTP destination. In that case, unfortunately, "Always create top parent directory" is always ignored. Sorry.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator and Developer
https://www.cobiansoft.com

vikingprofessor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 11:54 pm

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by vikingprofessor » Sun May 05, 2019 4:03 am

No worries but glad we got it figured out!

Nemv9
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:58 am

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by Nemv9 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:32 pm

I have this problem: "GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy#" instead of drive letter and my backup destination is local.

Windows 10
Service: installed and running
Include drive letter: on

Use VSC: on
Compression: 7zip
Use absolute paths: on
Always create top parent directory: checked and greyed out

This problem is resolved only if I disable VSC. Is there another solution?

Thanks

User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:57 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by cobian » Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:14 pm

Are you using absolute paths in your task? Is so, it could result in this kind of paths names in some situations.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator and Developer
https://www.cobiansoft.com

Nemv9
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:58 am

Re: How to Change Backup Folder Names

Post by Nemv9 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:20 am

cobian wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:14 pm
Are you using absolute paths in your task? Is so, it could result in this kind of paths names in some situations.
I do. I mentioned it in the post above.

If I didn't, the first file or folder in the source list (for some reason) would be saved in the root of the compressed backup file.

Post Reply