Out of memory

Questions about Cobian Backup
Post Reply
sandromfc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 9:05 pm
Location: Florianópolis, Brasil

Out of memory

Post by sandromfc » Wed May 29, 2019 12:17 pm

Hello,

I received the following message:

An error occurred when creating or updating the compressed file (filename): Out of memory
But I have plenty of space on the disk, both at the source and at the destination.
The only thing I could do was remove the scheduled tasks and create a new, uncompressed one.
What would be the solution to this type of problem? This is not the first time this has happened, I have had the same in other places.

Thank you for your attention and help.

User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:57 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Out of memory

Post by cobian » Wed May 29, 2019 10:32 pm

Yes, that's the only solution. Compressed archives are fragile and the 3rd party component I was using has the tendency to throw out Out of memory errors when compressing a lot of files in memory.

Another solution (if you want to use compression anyway) is to compress files individually (checking the Compress individual files check box).

Regards
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator and Developer
https://www.cobiansoft.com

sandromfc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 9:05 pm
Location: Florianópolis, Brasil

Re: Out of memory

Post by sandromfc » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:45 pm

Hello,

Ok, I get it. However, to compact individually I believe that the duration of the routine increases considerably. I'll do a test to check.

Thanks for the answer.

Post Reply