resume a full backup

Questions about Cobian Backup
Post Reply
ccrrii
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 9:13 am

resume a full backup

Post by ccrrii » Fri May 31, 2019 10:31 am

Hi,
I'm trying to make the first full backup on an external disk connected via ethernet, but it is about 250Gb and the file transfer is very slow.
Is there a way to stop the backup and restart it from the same point where it stopped?

At the moment, Cobian starts all over again and I can't finish the backup in one night.

Thank you all,
-Cri-

User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:57 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Re: resume a full backup

Post by cobian » Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:57 pm

You can disable the "First backup always full" option in Options - Engine. That way, it will copy those files that were not copied the first time.
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator and Developer
https://www.cobiansoft.com

ccrrii
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 9:13 am

Re: resume a full backup

Post by ccrrii » Sun Jun 09, 2019 6:26 pm

Thank you for your kind answer, I've just disabled this option.
But do I have to choose a full backup until all the present files are on the external disk, or should I choose an incremental backup?

Thank you again for your patience,
-Cristina-

User avatar
cobian
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:57 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Contact:

Re: resume a full backup

Post by cobian » Sun Jun 09, 2019 11:42 pm

Use Incremental. Just to be sure, before the first backup, use Menu Task- Reset archive attributes just to be sure that every file is marked as "not backed up".
--
Luis Cobian
Cobian Backup's creator and Developer
https://www.cobiansoft.com

ccrrii
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 9:13 am

Re: resume a full backup

Post by ccrrii » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:00 pm

thank you! :-)

Post Reply